Lemon Cupcakes

2 Sep

Yesterday it was FINALLY cold enough where I could bake some cupcakes without having to worry about the dreaded heat melting or altering my cupcakes and frosting.  I do have to say, that is the one thing I did NOT take into account when I started my cupcake adventures.  But, luckily for me, Portland only has 6 week long heat spells so that is the time I just crank out the idea book and get ready for cooler weather.

I recently befriended this really cool guy on Twitter, he lives in India currently and is a food blogger himself! Nikhil Merchant.  We didn’t just meet because Twitter recommended we follow each other, we met because I was holding a Twitter contest and one of my followers Retweeted the information.  Now, for some reason, he could not find me on the system! So I kept getting this tweets about how “@CupcakeLinnie does not exist” Now that was no good so I kept replaying about how I do exist and FINALLY after 20 minutes or so we got it to work! As a thank you for trying so hard to follow me on Twitter, I told him I would send him so free cupcakes (now, this was BEFORE I knew he lived in India).  He fell in love with my Vodka Infused Lemon Drop Cupcakes, but sadly I could not sendthem to him becasue of the distance.  Luckily, he has family in the states and because I ship all over the county anyways, I knew I could complete that task!

And what perfect time too! His cousin is going off to her first year of college and just LOVE LOVE LOVES cupcakes!!! His whole family actually adores them, and Nikhil even sent me a sweet message about the memories of his Aunt, Uncle and Cousin forcing him to frost cupcakes.  With permission from him, here is what he wrote me:

My Cousin is a crazy cupcake fanatic I remember when I was in USA staying with them couple of years ago, she would make me frost cupcakes with her… haha (once she even got Louis Vuitton cupcakes made) … and my Aunt is a gem, loves food and the fine things in life, as for my uncle – crazy guy but super fun!
These cupcakes are a super light and moist lemon cupcake made with yogurt instead of milk (this helps it be way more moist) and a little less butter than most cupcakes (to help with the lightness) and after the cupcakes are baked, while still hot, brushed with real citrus vodka.  The buttercream frosting is a basic lemon buttercream but instead of milk, I replaced it with, yup you guessed it, VODKA!
Vodka Infused Lemon Cupcakes
I hope that they are as happy to recive and eat these Lemon cupcakes as much as I was excited to bake them and ship them off.
And remember, a cupcake WILL always help!
~Linnie
Leave a Reply

