S’more Cupcakes

10 Aug

Happy National S’mores day everyone!!!

In honor of this wonderful day, I have baked up some yummy S’more Cupcakes with marshmallow frosting.

I know I might seem pretty impressive knowing today is S’mores day, but I have to be honest, I had no clue up until 4hours ago.  And for some reason I feel so compelled to honor this day to the fullest.  Maybe it is because of old memories sitting on the beach with a bonfire and using tree limbs as pokers trying to see who can get their marshmallow the most charred without setting it on fire (I was pretty much the master as that, not to toot my own horn).  Or, because this gives me an excuse to eat as many graham crackers as I want to today and feel guilt free.  I mean come on, it is a holiday!!!

Nonetheless, I am celebrating this day with full force!!  I even set up an Etsy Treasury that is nothing but S’mores!  Check it out…You will be pleased and you don’t have to be a member to check it out.

My version of S’more cupcakes are a graham cracker bottom, chocolate cupcake batter and marshmallow frosting.  I really was trying to create the yummiest yet simplest way to have S’mores without the campfire.

Let’s get down to the good stuff, the recipe!!

Equipment you will need

  • Standard 12 cup cupcake pan
  • 12 cupcake liners
  • Measuring cups
  • Measuring spoons
  • Mixer
  • Whisk
  • Bowls

S’more Cupcakes

Makes 12 standard sized cupcakes

Graham Cracker Mixture

  • 1 ½ cups graham cracker crumbs, I used a food processor to make fine crumbs.
  • 5 tablespoon melted butter
  • 55 semi sweet chocolate chip morsels

Line your cupcake pan with 12 cupcake liners and pre-heat your oven to good old 350 degrees!

Combine the crumbs and melted butter together in a small bowl until the graham crackers are completely moistened with butter.

Place about 1 tablespoon worth of your graham cracker mixture in each cupcake liner.  Flatten the graham cracker ball and spread out to fill the bottom, I used my fingers but you can also use the bottom of a glass.

Bake for about 5 minutes and remove from the oven.

Add 5 chocolate chip morsels to each cupcake liner.

Make Chocolate Cupcake Batter.

Regular Chocolate Cupcakes (this is my go to chocolate recipe, works great in everything)

Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen
  • 3 ounces milk chocolate, chopped finely, these come in a box of 1 ounce squares found in the baking aisle
  • 1/3 cup Dutch processed cocoa
  • ¾ cup hot unflavored coffee (instant coffee works too)
  • ¾ cup bread flour
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ baking soda
  • 6 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Place the chopped up chocolate and cocoa powder in a medium bowl.  Pour the hot coffee over the mixture and whisk until smooth.  Put it in the refrigerator to let it completely cool, I’d say about 20 minutes.  In a smaller bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda.  Set this aside.

When ready, take out the chocolate mixture and whisk in the oil, eggs, vinegar, and vanilla until smooth.  Add the flour mixture and which until just smooth.  Try not to over mix.

Now, add the chocolate cupcake batter evenly to the cups, the liners should not be filled more than ¾ full of they will overflow while baking.  Baker for 15-25minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool for about 10 minutes in the pan and then cool completely on a wire rack.

Marshmallow Frosting

To make things a lot faster, I decided to make semi homemade marshmallow frosting, but I usually make it from scratch.

  • 1 jar marshmallow crème, 7-8 ounces
  • 1/3 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoon milk, any kind

Place the marshmallow jar in the microwave on high for 20 seconds; remember to take of the lid and foil!

In a large bowl, beat the marshmallow crème, butter, and powdered sugar on medium-low speed until smooth and well blended.  This should take about 3 minutes.  Slowly add ½ teaspoon milk at a time until you get the desired consistency.  If your cupcakes are cooled by now, frosted them how you want and top the cupcake with crumbs of graham cracker, a piece of chocolate, or whatever you want!

Now…Eat up and have a wonderful day!!!!

And remember, a cupcake WILL always help!

~Linnie

3 Responses to “S’more Cupcakes”

  1. frugalfeeding August 11, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Wow, some of the best cupcakes I’ve ever seen. I just cannot ice this well. Maybe it’s because I’m a man…

    • Cupcake Linnie August 11, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Well thank you so much! I promise, it is not as hard as on e might think. just takes a lot of practice and acceptance that nothing will ever look perfect!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Creamsicle Day « Cupcake Linnie - August 14, 2011

    […] that we Americans are honoring, and you know what? I am so okay with that! Earlier this week it was National S’mores Day and today is National Creamsicle Day!! I love creamsicles…I mean, I love and adore S’mores but […]

Leave a Reply

