Cupcake Street Fair

26 Jul


Ok, well it wasn’t REALLY a cupcake street fair, but I was handing out my cupcakes at the street fair!  Street fairs are huge in Portland, especially during the summer.  It seems like there are at least 2 street fairs going on each weekend in sunny Portland Oregon, and don’t get me started on all the Farmer’s Markets going on everyday! Please don’t think I am not a fan of these events, I love them actually! I just think everything should be in moderation and I mean, how am I suppose to be at every one!?

I decided that I was going to only sell one type of cupcake, I just thought it would be easier to keep track of and simpler is sometimes I usually make  better, right?

Before when I have done street fairs, I usually just put the cupcakes on display on a cake platter and transfer them into boxes when they are sold.

Typical Cupcake Display

Typical Cupcake Display

But, because I was only selling one kind of cupcake I decided to individually pre-package the cupcakes and then just have them on display for the picking.

So, now what cupcakes did I make? Drum roll please……..ALMOND CHERRY CUPCAKES!!!!!! And the crowd goes wild!! Ok ok, well maybe you aren’t going wild and crazy, but the street fair walkers sure did!

Freshly frosted and decorated

These cupcakes were made with pure almond extract and sweet & sugary maraschino cherry juice.  The cherry juice gave the cupcake and  frosting its color so food coloring was not needed (and that is always an added bonus since food color is SO artificial).  I used a almond & cherry buttercream frosting for the cupcakes and topped each one with a whole maraschino cherry with stem.  I do think, if I were to make these again I would also put some shaved almonds on top to add some texture….Doesn’t that just sound extra yummy?!

The cupcakes were super fun to make and it was a blast seeing all of the little kids running up to my booth just drooling over the goodies!  My favorite was when a little boy was so distracted by the treats that he walked right into someone walking the other way! It was so adorable.  I love seeing people SO happy about cupcakes.

The only downside of the whole day was that I had to toss about 8 cupcakes because they melted just a little too fast for my liking.  It got to be above 80 degrees and I was parked right under the sun with NO shade at all!!!  I kept half in a cooler with ice but that didn’t seem to keep them stiff and perky as I hoped.  I am going to have to do some more research on how to keep my cupcakes looking sharp even in the hottest of temperatures.  ANY SUGGESTIONS?

Well, I better be signing off here…the day is not getting any younger and I have many more cupcakes adventure to..well..venture in!

And remember, a cupcake WILL always help!

~Linnie

Leave a Reply

